Rugby Greats | RockSport

ROCKSPORT lists their 3 greatest Rugby Union sides from the British Isles … Do you agree ?

1. Scotland 1984

The 1984 Five Nations Championship was the fifty-fifth series of the rugby union 5 Nations Championship. Including the previous incarnations as the Home Nations and Five Nations, this was the ninetieth series of the northern hemisphere rugby union championship. Ten matches were played between 21 January and 17 March.

Scotland won the championship outright for the first time since 1938. It was their twelfth outright championship, excluding a further seven shared titles. Their four wins gave them the Grand Slam for the first time since 1925 and the 2nd in all,and the Triple Crown for the 9th time [ the first since 1938 ]

2. England 2003

The 2003 Rugby World Cup was the fifth RUGBY WORLD CUP and was won by England. Originally planned to be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, all games were shifted to Australia following a contractual dispute over ground signage rights between the New Zealand Rugby Union and Rugby World Cup Limited. The pre-event favourites were the English, regarded by many at the time as the best team in the world after defeating all of the traditional southern hemisphere teams and also after winning the grand slam in the 2003 Six Nations Championship

The tournament began with host nation Australia defeating Argentina 24–8 at  in Sydney. Australia went on to defeat New Zealand 22–10 in the semifinal, to play England in the final. Along with a try to Jason Robinson, Jonny Wilkinson kicked four penalties and then a drop-goal in extra time to win the game 20–17 for the English, who became the first northern hemisphere team to win the Webb Ellis Cup and become world champions for the first time.
3. Glasgow Warriors 2015

Glasgow Warriors (21) 31
Tries: Harley, Van der Merwe, Pyrgos, Russell Cons: Russell 4 Pen: Weir
Munster (10) 13
Try: Smith Con: Keatley Pens: Keatley 2

Joy and emotion were undiluted as Glasgow Warriors won the Pro12 against Munster in Belfast.

Gregor Townsend’s men were thunderously good, triumphing by 18 points at the Kingspan Stadium.

They scored three first-half tries through Rob Harley, DTH van der Merwe and Henry Pyrgos, while Finn Russell sealed the win with a fourth.

Andrew Smith crossed for Munster but they were rarely close to the Scottish side.

It was a remarkable day for Glasgow, a coming of age for an indomitable team. And at last, a trophy for a Scottish club in a professional rugby age that has brought little more than misery and embarrassment.

Glasgow captain Al Kellock stepped up and lifted the silverware to the Belfast skies. It was a full stop on his career but really just the beginning of a new chapter for this club. It was hard-earned and thoroughly justified, a day of days.

Glasgow’s intensity and quality in establishing a game-winning lead was something to behold. They were a cosmic blend of brutality and subtlety, hard running and soft hands. In an extraordinary first half-hour, Townsend’s team were a lethal force.